Compression and Limiting

Share your production secrets.
no avatar
NickHayes1

Topic author

Compression and Limiting

by NickHayes1 » Mon Sep 28, 2015 4:30 pm

Hi everyone,

I'm new to producing and am looking for tips on compression and limiting. Please feel free to share any tips or tricks you think could benefit people on the forum here.

no avatar
veykon

Re: Compression and Limiting

by veykon » Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:31 pm

i'm not a pro but in compressors i use fabfilter and ozone as it show that kinda waveform and you can have some help with attack and release and i get some help using s(M)exoscope plugin too.
My favorite limiter is fabfilter PRO-L, it's pretty easy and there are presets which always do great job for me, i mostly use limiter only in master channel where you can increase your level loud enough if mix is good. I don't need limiters in other channels because of headroom, at least it works for me.
I hope someone will help us with some tips :)

no avatar
NickHayes1

Topic author

by NickHayes1 » Tue Sep 29, 2015 12:58 am

veykon wrote:i'm not a pro but in compressors i use fabfilter and ozone as it show that kinda waveform and you can have some help with attack and release and i get some help using s(M)exoscope plugin too.
My favorite limiter is fabfilter PRO-L, it's pretty easy and there are presets which always do great job for me, i mostly use limiter only in master channel where you can increase your level loud enough if mix is good. I don't need limiters in other channels because of headroom, at least it works for me.
I hope someone will help us with some tips :)

I hope more people respond too. That's about the same set up I use. How much head room do you use on each track?

no avatar
veykon

by veykon » Tue Sep 29, 2015 10:50 am